How I do things

Just as an example, I thought I would describe how things work for me when I do one of the posts here.

I have a very convenient setup, made of things that were all ready at hand. The main item is a microphone which the family got for us to use who do occasional coffee-house gigs. This is connected in to the computer, and situated so that I can sit at the computer and sing into it.

When setting out to record a day’s Lauds, I first go to DivinumOfficium.com and set the date to what I want, make sure the option for “Rubrics 1960” is checked, and click on “Laudes”. This gives me what day is being observed, tells me what kind of day this is, and shows the correct arrangement of all the texts I will need.

Then, I open up five or so copies of the compact-file-size version of the Antiphonale Romanum (1960) in two-page view in a .pdf viewer. Looking at the texts generated by DivinumOfficium.com, I set each of these to the correct page for the different chants, psalms, etc. which I see that I will need.

I then start at the beginning, and record myself singing the Lauds, flipping back and forth between my .pdf Antiphonale’s as necessary. If I make a mistake, I don’t stop recording, but I put in a marker as I redo the item I messed up. By doing the whole thing in one go, I figure that I get a fairly natural pacing for the whole, and between the different sections. Anyhow, when I reach finally the end, I of course stop the recording and edit out the mistakes.

Once this is done, I export the edited recording as an mp3, and upload it to the free site online where I keep my recordings. Then I go to the blog here and copy an old post and change out the relevant page numbers and other info to be correct for the new day’s post, and am done as easy as that.

Now that I have done a number of these and have my system streamlined, I think I am usually done in well under an hour, say forty-five minutes.

So, find out what works for you!

Being able to edit means it doesn’t have to be perfect the first time; you just need to know what you are going for, and keep trying.

And of course, if you are recording live, this is much more authentic, even if mistakes happen authentically too.

Leave a Reply

